The Falcon of Sparta

From acclaimed historical writer Conn Iggulden comes an epic new novel that hails his return to the ancient world. Drawing on one of history's most heroic stories of adventure, The Falcon of Sparta masterfully depicts the ferocity, heroism and savage bloodshed that was the ancient world.
Conn Iggulden

Books

The Falcon of Sparta

Conn Iggulden

Conn Iggulden, the bestselling author of the Emperor, Conqueror and The Wars of the Roses series' returns to the Ancient World with a ferociously bloody epic . . .


In the Ancient World, one army was feared above all others.

401 BC. The Persian king Artaxerxes rules an empire stretching from the Aegean to northern India.

As many as fifty million people are his subjects.

His rule is absolute.

Though the sons of Sparta are eager to play the game of thrones . . .

Yet battles can be won - or lost - with a single blow. Princes fall. And when the dust of civil war settles, the Spartans are left stranded in the heart of an enemy's empire, without support, without food and without water.

Far from home, surrounded by foes, it falls to the young soldier Xenophon to lead the survivors against Artaxerxes' legendary Persian warriors.

Based on one of history's most epic stories of adventure The Falcon of Sparta masterfully depicts the ferocity, heroism, and savage bloodshed that was the Ancient World.

'His finest novel to date, brings alive the extraordinary world of ancient Persia' Sunday Express

Dunstan

Conn Iggulden

One man. Seven Kings. England's bloody throne.

'Iggulden tells an absolutely cracking story. The pace is nail-biting and the set dressing magnificent' The Times

Tenth century England: a divided and broken country of misrule. Yet King Athelstan, grandson of Alfred the Great, seeks to unite the kingdom under one crown. By his side is Dunstan of Glastonbury - priest, soldier, visionary and, some insist, traitor - whose task is to steward seven kings through fire, war, murder and fury to see Athelstan's dream come true. But what stain will it leave on his mortal soul?

'Iggulden has created an intriguingly complex saint - flawed, spiteful and unreliable as the teller of his own tale. Through his eyes we watch the story of the making of England' The Times

'Engrossing. Rich in intrigue, with Iggulden breathing life into this remarkable and complex figure who played a vital role in safeguarding a newly united England' Daily Express

'A gripping and glorious legend. Brilliant!' Weekend Sport

'Breathes new life into the darkest and most dramatic of times' Star

'Dunstan is a vivid, convincing character' BBC History Magazine

Ravenspur

Conn Iggulden

Witness the rise of the Tudors in the stunning conclusion to Conn Iggulden's powerful retelling of the Wars of the Roses.

'An utterly compelling page-turner full of historical facts. A fascinating read' Sun

England, 1470. A divided kingdom cannot stand.

King Edward of York has been driven out of England. Queen Elizabeth and her children tremble in sanctuary at Westminster Abbey. The House of Lancaster has won the crown, but York will not go quietly.

Desperate to reclaim his throne, Edward lands at Ravenspur with a half-drowned army and his brother Richard at his side. Every hand is against them, every city gate is shut, yet the brothers York go on the attack.

But neither sees that their true enemy is Henry Tudor, now grown into a man. As the Red Dragon - 'the man of destiny' - his claim to the throne leads to Bosworth Field and a battle that will call an end to the Wars of the Roses . . .

'A tough, pacy chronicle of bloody encounters, betrayals and cruelties. Superb' Daily Mail

'Iggulden is in a class of his own when it comes to epic, historical fiction' Daily Mirror

'Superb, fantastic, extraordinary' Sunday Express

Wars of the Roses: Bloodline

Conn Iggulden

The third beautifully written novel in the War of the Roses series by bestselling author Conn Iggulden.

'Superbly plotted and paced' The Times

***

- Winter 1461 -

Richard Duke of York is dead, his ambitions in ruins, his head spiked on the walls of the city.

King Henry VI is still held prisoner. His Lancastrian Queen rides south with an army of victorious northerners, accompanied by painted warriors from the Scottish Highlands. With the death of York, Margaret and her army seem unstoppable.

Yet in killing the father, Margaret has unleashed the sons.

Edward of March, now Duke of York, proclaims himself England's rightful king. Factions form and tear apart as snow falls. Through blood and treason, through broken men and vengeful women, brother shall confront brother, king shall face king.

Two men can always claim a crown.
Only one can keep it.

Praise for the Wars of the Roses series:

'Pacey and juicy, and packed with action' Sunday Times

'Energetic, competent stuff; Iggulden knows his material and his audience' Independent

'A novel that seamlessly combines narrative, historical credence and great knowledge of the period' Daily Express

'A page-turning thriller' Mail on Sunday

Wars of the Roses: Trinity

Conn Iggulden

The brilliant retelling of the Wars of the Roses continues with Trinity, the second gripping novel in the new series from historical fiction master, Conn Iggulden.

1454: King Henry VI has remained all but exiled in Windsor Castle, struck down by his illness for over a year, his eyes vacant, his mind a blank.

His fiercely loyal wife and Queen, Margaret of Anjou, safeguards her husband's interests, hoping that her son Edward will one day know the love of his father.

Richard Duke of York, Protector of the Realm, extends his influence throughout the kingdom with each month that Henry slumbers. The Earls of Salisbury and Warwick make up a formidable trinity with Richard, and together they seek to break the support of those who would raise their colours in the name of Henry and his Queen.

But when the King unexpectedly recovers his senses and returns to London to reclaim his throne, the balance of power is once again thrown into turmoil.

The clash of the Houses of Lancaster and York will surely mean a war to tear England apart . . .

Following on from Stormbird, Trinity is the second epic instalment in master storyteller Conn Iggulden's new Wars of the Roses series. Fans of Game of Thrones and The Tudors will be gripped from the word go.

Praise for Stormbird:

'Pacey and juicy, and packed with action' Sunday Times

'Energetic, competent stuff; Iggulden knows his material and his audience' Independent

'A novel that seamlessly combines narrative, historical credence and great knowledge of the period' Daily Express

'A page-turning thriller' Mail on Sunday

'Superbly plotted and paced' The Times

Wars of the Roses: Stormbird

Conn Iggulden

The master of historical fiction, Conn Iggulden, retells one of the most brutal, bloody civil wars in English history, in the FIRST INSTALMENT of his Wars of the Roses series.

King Henry V - the great Lion of England - is long dead.

In 1437 his gentle son comes of age and takes the throne. Frail in body and mind, King Henry VI is dependent on his supporters to run his kingdom.

Richard, Duke of York, however, believes that without a strong king England will fall. His fears seem justified as English power comes under threat from France, and discontent and rebellion spread at home.

On the counsel of his advisers, Henry marries the young princess Margaret of Anjou, in order to forge an alliance with France - but is it too late?

As the storm clouds gather, King Henry and his queen are besieged abroad and at home.
Who can save the throne? Who will save the kingdom?

Stormbird is followed by Trinity, also available from Penguin Random House UK. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Ken Follett and Hilary Mantel.

Praise for Conn Iggulden:

'This is energetic, competent stuff; Iggulden knows his material and his audience' Independent

'Iggulden is in a class of his own when it comes to epic, historical fiction' Daily Mirror

'Iggulden...tells an absolutely cracking story' The Times

Conn Iggulden

British author Conn Iggulden writes historical fiction, including the popular Emperor and Conqueror series.

Biography

Conn Iggulden is one of the most successful authors of historical fiction writing today. He has written three previous bestselling historical series, including Wars of the RosesDunstan is a stand-alone novel set in the red-blooded world of tenth-century England.

Get in contact with Conn Iggulden:
conn.iggulden@amheath.com