Reviews

  • A delight for both the expert and the uninitiated, this creepy tale is a carapace of cosy nostalgia wrapped round a solid thread of dread ... A page turner that keeps you in dreaded suspense of what you are about to be shown ... A claustrophobic and entertaining read that left me breathless ... Horror for the connoisseur.

    Alice Lowe
  • [T]his outstanding debut is ideal for fans of Andrew Michael Hurley

    Metro
  • There are chills galore in this enjoyable 70s-set debut about disturbed teenagers and malevolent spirits ... Anyone who remembers the 70s will thrill to Maclean's depiction of the period... The ending of the novel is particularly impressive, with Maclean bringing together both his novelistic and scriptwriting skills to full effect... Maclean brings together this strain of wild rural gothic with some slick TV plotting and a depiction of 70s British suburban life to produce a novel that amounts to considerably more than the sum of its parts, with moments of hallucinatory brilliance ... [a] very successfully scary book about twins and chaos and loss - may be the perfect novel for our phantom present.

    Guardian
  • A fascinating and spooky denouement, kept me on the edge of my seat and I can't think of a better read for this Halloween than Will Maclean's suspenseful and entertaining "The Apparition Phase".

    Good Reads
  • Pacing is intense, I was on the edge of my seat from the moment Tim got to that manor until the end. Maclean's writing style fits the horror genre perfectly and it was a great debut novel, not to mention it sets the bar very high for him on his next book!

    Caffeinated Reader

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here


Strictly Necessary


Analytics


Preferences & Features


Targeting / Advertising