Salt to the Sea

Salt to the Sea

Summary

WINNER OF THE CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL 2017

It's early 1945 and a group of people trek across Germany, bound together by their desperation to reach the ship that can take them away from the war-ravaged land. Four young people, each haunted by their own dark secret, narrate their unforgettable stories. Fans of The Book Thief or Helen Dunmore's The Siege will be totally absorbed.

This inspirational novel is based on a true story from the Second World War. When the German ship the Wilhelm Gustloff was sunk in port in early 1945 it had over 9000 civilian refugees, including children, on board. Nearly all were drowned. Ruta Sepetys, acclaimed author of Between Shades of Grey, brilliantly imagines their story.

'Ruta Sepetys is a master of historical fiction' Elizabeth Wein, author of CODE NAME VERITY

Reviews

  • Ruta Sepetys is a master of historical fiction.
    Elizabeth Wein

About the author

Ruta Sepetys

Ruta Sepetys is a New York Times bestselling author and winner of the Carnegie Medal. She was born and raised in Michigan in a family of artists, readers and music lovers. The daughter of a refugee, Ruta is drawn to under-represented stories of strength through struggle and hopes to give a voice to those who weren't able to tell their story. Her award-winning historical novels are published in over fifty countries and have received over forty literary prizes.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more