The Eagle Has Landed

The Eagle Has Landed


In 1943, sixteen German paratroopers landed in England. In three days, they nearly won the war . . .

Discover The Eagle Has Landed, by international bestselling author Jack Higgins, the ultimate WWII pageturner and one of the bestselling thrillers of all time.

In the early morning hours of 6 November 1943, SS Reichsfuhrer Heinrich Himmler receives the coded message he has been waiting for:

'The Eagle has landed'.

Operation Eagle: Himmler's audacious plan to kidnap Winston Churchill on British soil is underway in a remote corner of Norfolk. There, an elite unit is gathered. Ready to do battle for a nation against the most ruthless task force ever assembled . . .

First published in 1975, The Eagle Has Landed is a classic tale of the ultimate act of wartime treachery. This 45th anniversary edition celebrates Jack Higgins' novel as one of the bestselling thrillers of all time.

Praise for Jack Higgins:

'A thriller writer in a class of his own' Financial Times

'Higgins is a master of his craft' Daily Telegraph

'A compulsively readable storyteller' Sunday Express

'100 per cent proof adventure' New York Times


  • A thriller writer in a class of his own
    Financial Times

About the author

Jack Higgins

Jack Higgins was brought up in Belfast and later moved to Leeds. Leaving school with no qualifications, he became a circus hand, a tram conductor and a teacher, before turning to writing.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more