One-hit Wonder

One-hit Wonder

From the bestselling author of Invisible Girl


The emotional and intriguing story of life, love and loss from the No. 1 bestseller of Then She Was Gone, brought to you by Penguin.

After her number-one single, she was never heard of again . . .
Fifteen years later, Bee Bearhorn is found dead in her flat.
Shiver in fear when Pandora opens her jar of evil torments.
Ana Willis always day-dreamed about the exotic half-sister she hadn't seen in years.
When she comes to London to sort through Bee's possessions, she uncovers a life more surprising and mysterious than even she imagined.
Along with Bee's closest friends, Ana sets out to discover exactly what happened to her half-sister, Bee Bearhorn, the one-hit wonder . . .

Narrated by AudioFile Earphones Award-winning narrator Antonia Beamish, Lisa Jewell's compelling novel is brought to live with poignant and captivating narration.

'A compelling story packed with intriguing characters' The Times

'Inventive and moving, with definite charms and a real sense of poignancy' Sunday Times

'Moving and intelligent' Independent


  • Sophisticated . . . Jewell can't help but tell a compelling story packed with intriguing characters
    The Times

About the author

Lisa Jewell

LISA JEWELL was born in London in 1968.

Her first novel, Ralph's Party, was the best- selling debut novel of 1999. Since then she has written another eighteen novels, most recently a number of dark psychological thrillers, including The Girls, Then She Was Gone and The Family Upstairs (all of which were Richard & Judy Book Club picks).

Lisa is a New York Times and Sunday Times number one bestselling author who has been published worldwide in over twenty-five languages. She lives in north London with her husband, two teenage daughters and the best dog in the world.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more