Due for release 30th March 2017

Butterfly on the Storm

Heartland Trilogy Book 1

Walter Lucius

When a simple hit and run turns into a murder investigation, Journalist Farah Hafez finds herself pulled into a sinister world where nothing is as it seems. Butterfly On The Storm is the first book in the bestselling Dutch thriller series The Heartland Trilogy.

A young boy is found in woods outside Amsterdam. Broken and bloody, he appears to be the victim of a brutal hit-and-run. When the police at the hospital ask what happened, the one word the boy repeats they don't understand.

But journalist Farah Hafez does. She left Afghanistan as a child and she recognizes her native tongue. As the boy is taken into surgery she finds herself visiting the scene of the crime, seeking to discover how a little Afghan boy came to be so far from home.

Instead, she comes across a burnt-out car with two bodies inside - a sinister clue to something far darker than a simple road accident.

It is just the start of a journey that will lead her from one twisted strand to another in an intricate web of crime and corruption that stretches across Europe and deep into a past that Farah had sought to escape - a past that nearly killed her.

Butterfly on the Storm is the first in a tense, atmospheric and gripping new trilogy which has drawn parallels with Stieg Larsson's Millennium series.

Praise for Walter Lucius

'Disturbing, apocalyptic, gripping' Dutch Daily De Limburger

'Riveting until the very end' AD Weekend [Dutch Newspaper]

'The Dutch answer to the tsunami of Scandinavian thrillers' BB Boekblad

  • Michael Joseph
  • Published 30th March 2017
  • 528 Pages
  • 162mm x 240mm x 44mm
  • 826g
  • £14.99