The Whispering Mountain (Prequel to the Wolves Chronicles series)

The Whispering Mountain (Prequel to the Wolves Chronicles series)


Rediscover the A Puffin Book series and bring the best-loved classics to a new generation - including this treasured edition of The Whispering Mountain.

Owen and Arabis live in a quiet town in Wales, near the Whispering Mountain, rumoured to be where a long-lost King buried his treasure, including the legendary Harp of Teirtu.

The Harp was discovered a long ago and was kept in the town's museum until it was stolen by the dishonourable Lord Malyn.

But the Harp has disappeared. . .

'And the Harp of Teirtu find her master.'

Join Owen and Arabis on an exhilarating adventure into the Whispering Mountain and unearth its ancient secrets.


  • Joan Aiken is a marvel
    Philip Pullman, The Guardian

About the author

Joan Aiken

Joan Delano Aiken (1924-2004) was the daughter of the American poet, Conrad Aiken. Joan had a variety of jobs, including working for the BBC, the United Nations Information Centre and then as features editor for a short story magazine. Her first children's novel, The Kingdom and the Cave, was published in 1960. Joan Aiken wrote over a hundred books for young readers and adults and is recognized as one of the classic authors of the twentieth century. Her best-known books are those in the James III saga, of which The Wolves of Willoughby Chase was the first title, published in l962 and awarded the Lewis Carroll prize. Both that and Black Hearts in Battersea have been filmed. Her books are internationally acclaimed and she received the Edgar Allan Poe Award in the United States as well as the Guardian Award for Fiction in this country for The Whispering Mountain. In 1999 Joan Aiken was awarded an MBE for her services to children's books.
Learn More

Sign up to the Puffin newsletter

Stories, ideas and giveaways to help you spark young imaginations