The Witchfinder's Sister

Beth Underdown

THE MOST THRILLING HISTORICAL DEBUT OF 2017

Based on the shocking true story of the infamous witchfinder Matthew Hopkins, this haunting and gripping novel is perfect for fans of The Miniaturist, Sarah Waters and The Essex Serpent.

'The number of women my brother Matthew killed, so far as I can reckon it, is one hundred and six...'

1645. When Alice Hopkins' husband dies in a tragic accident, she returns to the small Essex town of Manningtree, where her brother Matthew still lives.

But home is no longer a place of safety. Matthew has changed, and there are rumours spreading through the town: whispers of witchcraft, and of a great book, in which he is gathering women's names.

To what lengths will Matthew's obsession drive him?
And what choice will Alice make, when she finds herself at the very heart of his plan?

'VIVID AND TERRIFYING' Paula Hawkins, author of The Girl on the Train

'If you loved The Essex Serpent...then you may have met your new favourite' Apple Books

'At once a feminist parable and an old-fashioned, check-twice-under-the-bed thriller' Patrick Gale

'A tense, surprising and elegantly-crafted novel' Ian McGuire, author of The North Water

'A richly told and utterly compelling tale, with shades of Hilary Mantel' Kate Hamer, author of The Girl in the Red Coat

'Anyone who liked Cecilia Ekback's Wolf Winter is going to love this' Natasha Pulley, author of The Watchmaker of Filigree Street

'Beth Underdown cleverly creates a compelling atmosphere of dread and claustrophobia... Even from the distance of nearly four hundred years, her Matthew Hopkins is a genuinely frightening monster' Kate Riordan

'Superb: dark, terrifying and utterly compelling' Tracy Borman

  • Penguin
  • Published 2nd March 2017
  • 368 Pages
  • £14.99