Moon Witch, Spider King

Moon Witch, Spider King

Dark Star Trilogy 2

Summary

THE SECOND NOVEL IN THE REVOLUTIONARY DARK STAR TRILOGY IS HERE!

Booker Prize-winner Marlon James once again draws on a rich tradition of African mythology and fantasy to imagine a mythic world, a lost child, a 177-year-old witch and a mystery with many answers . . .

*Perfect for fans of Pratchett, George R. R. Martin and Octavia Butler*

'Even more gripping and inventive than its predecessor . . . like Tolkien on ayahuasca' Observer

*****

Part adventure, part chronicle of an indomitable woman - the witch Sogolon - who bows to no man, this is an unforgettable exploration of power, personality, and the places where they overlap, set in a world at once ancient and startlingly modern.

In the words of Neil Gaiman, James has created 'a fantasy world as well-realized as anything Tolkien made, with language as powerful as Angela Carter's'.

Chronicling the same events but telling a very different story - who will you believe? Read THE DARK STAR TRILOGY in any order! Book one, BLACK LEOPARD, RED WOLF, is available now.

*****

'Moving, vivid, and thought-provoking . . . brilliant' Buzzfeed

'James masterfully flips the first instalment on its head . . . [A] titanic story of empire, adventure and power' Esquire

'Told with James' inimitable linguistic verve . . . Riotous, ultraviolent, dazzlingly inventive' Literary Hub

Reviews

  • An epic fable drenched in African mythology. This is work that both meets the immersive worldbuilding standard in books by Tolkien and Martin and brings to the genre a voice unlike anything seen before . . . It sets readers up for what will undoubtedly be a superb finale
    The Boston Globe

About the author

Marlon James

Marlon James is the author of the New York Times bestseller A Brief History of Seven Killings, The Book of Night Women, John Crow's Devil and the Dark Star Trilogy. A Brief History of Seven Killings won the Man Booker Prize, the American Book Award and the Anisfield-Wolf Award for Fiction, and was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award. Black Leopard, Red Wolf, the first book in the Dark Star Trilogy, was a Sunday Times Number One Bestseller. The Book of Night Women won the Minnesota Book Award and was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award, as well as the NAACP Image Award. Marlon James is a professor at Macalester College in St Paul. He divides his time between Minnesota and New York.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more