The Shadow Guests

The Shadow Guests


Rediscover the A Puffin Book series and bring the best-loved classics to a new generation - including this thrilling edition of The Shadow Guests.

Following the double disappearance of his mother and older brother, Cosmo Curtoy is sent to live with his strange cousin in England.

When he arrives, Cosmo decides to explore the ancient Mill House on his cousins' estate - where he meets the Mill's spirited guests. . .

But can he trust them?

Join Cosmo on this supernatural time-travelling adventure and break the Curtoy's curse!


  • Stylish writing and vigorous invention
    Publishers Weekly

About the author

Joan Aiken

Joan Delano Aiken (1924-2004) was the daughter of the American poet, Conrad Aiken. Joan had a variety of jobs, including working for the BBC, the United Nations Information Centre and then as features editor for a short story magazine. Her first children's novel, The Kingdom and the Cave, was published in 1960. Joan Aiken wrote over a hundred books for young readers and adults and is recognized as one of the classic authors of the twentieth century. Her best-known books are those in the James III saga, of which The Wolves of Willoughby Chase was the first title, published in l962 and awarded the Lewis Carroll prize. Both that and Black Hearts in Battersea have been filmed. Her books are internationally acclaimed and she received the Edgar Allan Poe Award in the United States as well as the Guardian Award for Fiction in this country for The Whispering Mountain. In 1999 Joan Aiken was awarded an MBE for her services to children's books.
Learn More

Sign up to the Puffin newsletter

Stories, ideas and giveaways to help you spark young imaginations