The Whole Truth

The Whole Truth

The new ‘impossible to predict’ detective thriller from the Richard and Judy Book Club Spring 2021

Summary

An attractive student. An older professor.
Think you know the story? Think again.


--------


'Riveting' Shari Lapena
'So twisty, so timely, so terrific' Nicci French
'My new favourite crime series' Louise Candlish

She has everything at stake; he has everything to lose. But one of them is lying, all the same.

When an Oxford student accuses one of the university's professors of sexual assault, DI Adam Fawley's team think they've heard it all before. But they couldn't be more wrong.

Because this time, the predator is a woman and the shining star of the department, and the student a six-foot male rugby player.

Soon DI Fawley and his team are up against the clock to figure out the truth. What they don't realise is that someone is watching.

And they have a plan to put Fawley out of action for good...

The fifth twisty, up-all-night thriller from the Sunday Times bestselling Cara Hunter. For fans of Shari Lapena, Claire Douglas and Lisa Jewell.

--------

Authors can't get enough of The Whole Truth

'A masterclass in twists, deception and modern crime writing'
Jo Spain, The Last to Disappear

'This book is nail-biting, gasp-out-loud, brilliant' John Marrs, The Vacation

'[Gives the] police procedural format a fresh coat of paint' Financial Times

'A master of the genre' Jane Casey, The Reckoning

'The Fawley books are the best crime series being written at the moment' Araminta Hall, Hidden Depths

'Prepare to be engrossed by a master storyteller' JP Delaney, The Perfect Wife

'Made me race to the end' Fiona Barton, Local Gone Missing

'An absolute masterclass in crime writing' Simon Lelic, The Hiding Place

And readers are loving this series, too

'All hail the new queen of all things crime'
Penny, Netgalley

'Mind-bending brilliance' Kath, Netgalley

'Packed full of twists' Gary, Netgalley

'Definitely for fans of Lisa Gardner, Karin Slaughter and the like' Fiona, Netgalley

'Captivating: full of mystery, tension, moral dilemma . . . outstanding' Peter, Netgalley

'This series just gets better and better' Tina, Netgalley

Reviews

  • Fantastic . . . my favourite series ever!
    Shari Lapena, author of SOMEONE WE KNOW

About the author

Cara Hunter

Cara Hunter is the author of the Sunday Times bestselling crime novels Close to Home, In the Dark, No Way Out, All the Rage and The Whole Truth all featuring DI Adam Fawley and his Oxford-based police team. Close to Home was a Richard and Judy Book Club pick and was shortlisted for Crime Book of the Year in the British Book Awards 2019. No Way Out was selected by the Sunday Times as one of the 100 best crime novels since 1945. And The Whole Truth was a Richard and Judy pick in 2021. Cara's novels have sold more than a million copies worldwide, and the TV rights to the series have now been acquired by the Fremantle group. She lives in Oxford, on a street not unlike those featured in her books.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more