The Extremely Embarrassing Life of Lottie Brooks

The Extremely Embarrassing Life of Lottie Brooks

Summary

Lottie Brooks is 11 ¾ and her life is ALREADY officially over.

Not only is she about to start high school without any friends or glamorous swooshy hair, she's just discovered she's too flat-chested to wear A BRA!

She might as well give up now and go into hibernation with her hamsters Sir Barnaby Squeakington and Fuzzball the Third.

Lottie navigates the perils of growing up in this fantastically funny new illustrated series for pre-teens filled with friendship, embarrassing moments and, of course, KitKat Chunkys.

The first book in the hilarious new series for children by the bestselling creator of Hurrah For Gin. Perfect for fans of Angus, Thongs and Perfect Snogging and Dork Diaries.

Praise for Lottie Brooks

'As the mother of a ten year old hoodie gamer girl, it is a joy to see the screens off. No amount of coaxing about the utter joy of a book had worked before, but Katie has managed to capture what this group think and feel in a positive, gently parent-mocking, life-affirming fashion.' Becci, Amazon

'My daughter is 12 and I cannot get her to read. However, I bought her a copy of The Extremely Embarrassing Life of Lottie Brooks . . . and she's hooked!' - Vickles, Mumsnet



About the author

Katie Kirby

Katie Kirby is a writer and illustrator who lives by the sea in Hove with her husband, two sons and dog Sasha.

She has a degree in Advertising and Marketing and after spending several years working in London media agencies, which basically involved hanging out in fancy restaurants and pretending to know what she was talking about, she had some children and decided to start a blog called 'Hurrah for Gin' about the gross injustice of it all.

Many people said her sense of humour was silly and immature so she is now having a bash at writing children's fiction. The Extremely Embarrassing Life of Lottie Brooks is her first novel.

Katie likes gin, rabbits, over-thinking things, the smell of launderettes and Monster Munch. She does not like losing at board games or writing about herself in the third person.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more