Chocolat

Chocolat

(Chocolat 1)

Summary

Lose yourself in Chocolat - the mesmerising and heart-warming bestseller that celebrates kindness, courage and chocolate. Multi-million copy bestselling author Joanne Harris's delightful novel set in rural France is perfect for fans of Victoria Hislop, Fiona Valpy, Maggie O'Farrell and Rachel Joyce.

'A feel-good book of the first order. One to curl up with... Read it' --
OBSERVER
'Sensuous and thought-provoking... subtle and brilliant' -- DAILY TELEGRAPH
'You are transported to another world. It's perfect escapism.' -- ***** Reader review
'A wonderful story told by a world-class storyteller.' -- ***** Reader review
'I became totally immersed in this story. I loved it.' -- ***** Reader review


**************************************************************************************
In the small French village of Lansquenet, nothing much has changed in a hundred years. Then an exotic stranger, Vianne Rocher, blows in on the changing wind with her young daughter, and opens a chocolate boutique directly opposite the church. Soon the villagers cannot keep away, for Vianne can divine their most hidden desires.

But it's the beginning of Lent, the season of abstinence, and Father Reynaud denounces her as a serious moral danger to his flock. Perhaps even a witch.

If Vianne's chocolaterie is to survive, it will take kindness, courage and a little bit of magic...

Chocolat is Joanne Harris's first book about Vianne Rocher, and was turned into the Oscar-nominated film starring Juliette Binoche and Johnny Depp. The story of Vianne and her daughters continues in The Lollipop Shoes, Peaches for Monsieur le Curé, and The Strawberry Thief.

Reviews

  • Mouthwatering ... a feelgood book of the first order ... your senses are left reeling. Read it
    Observer

About the author

Joanne Harris

Joanne Harris's Whitbread-shortlisted Chocolat was made into an Oscar-nominated film starring Juliette Binoche and Johnny Depp. She is the author of many other bestselling novels, including Lollipop Shoes, Peaches for Monsieur le Curé, and The Strawberry Thief, all also featuring Vianne Rocher. She has also written acclaimed novels in such diverse genres as fantasy based on Norse myth (Runemarks, Runelight, The Gospel of Loki), and the Malbry cycle of dark psychological thrillers (Gentlemen & Players, Blueeyedboy, and Different Class).

Born in Barnsley, of an English father and a French mother, she spent fifteen years as a teacher before (somewhat reluctantly) becoming a full-time writer. In 2013, she was awarded an MBE. She lives in Yorkshire, plays bass and flute in a band first formed when she was sixteen, and works in a shed in her garden.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more