The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents

The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents

(Discworld Novel 28)


Brought to you by Penguin.

Maurice, a streetwise tomcat, has the perfect money-making scam. Everyone knows the stories about rats and pipers, and Maurice has a stupid-looking kid with a pipe, and his very own plague of rats - strangely educated rats . . .

But in Bad Blintz, the little con suddenly goes down the drain. For someone there is playing a different tune and now the rats must learn a new word. EVIL. It's not a game any more. It's a rat-eat-rat world. And that might only be the start . . .

The Discworld novels can be read in any order but The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents is a standalone novel.

'An astonishing novel' Financial Times

© Terry and Lyn Pratchett 2001 (P) Penguin Audio 2022


  • Ethically challenging, beautifully orchestrated, philosophically opposed to the usual plot fixes of fantasy
    The Guardian

About the author

Terry Pratchett

Terry Pratchett was the acclaimed creator of the global bestselling Discworld series, the first of which, The Colour of Magic, was published in 1983. In all, he was the author of over fifty bestselling books which have sold over 100 million copies worldwide. His novels have been widely adapted for stage and screen, and he was the winner of multiple prizes, including the Carnegie Medal. He was awarded a knighthood for services to literature in 2009, although he always wryly maintained that his greatest service to literature was to avoid writing any.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more