Thief Of Time

Thief Of Time

(Discworld Novel 26)


'Some humans would do anything to see if it was possible to do it. If you put a large switch in some cave somewhere, with a sign on it saying "End-of-the-World Switch. PLEASE DO NOT TOUCH", the paint wouldn't even have time to dry.'

Time is a resource. Everyone knows it has to be managed. You can let it move fast or slowly, but what you mustn't do is allow it to stop.

The Monks of History have the glamorous job of time management in the Discworld. But the construction of the world's first truly accurate clock starts a race against, well . . . time.

Monk Lu Tze, his talented apprentice Lobsang Ludd and Death's granddaughter Susan must stop the clockmaker before he completes his task.

Because a truly accurate clock will stop time. And when time stands still, everything in existence stops with it. Then, there really is no future . . .

'This is the best Pratchett I've read' Sunday Telegraph

Thief of Time is the fifth book in the Death series, but you can read the Discworld novels in any order.


  • Terry Pratchett is one of the great inventors of secondary - or imaginative or alternative - worlds. He is not derivative. He is too strong . . . He has the real energy of the primary storyteller.
    The Times

About the author

Terry Pratchett

Terry Pratchett was the acclaimed creator of the global bestselling Discworld series, the first of which, The Colour of Magic, was published in 1983. In all, he was the author of over fifty bestselling books which have sold over 100 million copies worldwide. His novels have been widely adapted for stage and screen, and he was the winner of multiple prizes, including the Carnegie Medal. He was awarded a knighthood for services to literature in 2009, although he always wryly maintained that his greatest service to literature was to avoid writing any.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more