A Scattering Of Daisies

A Scattering Of Daisies

(The Rising Family Book 1): the beginning of an extraordinary West Country family saga by bestselling author Susan Sallis

Summary

The wonderful and heart-warming story of the Rising Family starts here in A Scattering of Daisies. Multi-million copy seller and Sunday Times bestselling author Susan Sallis expertly transports us back in time to the turn of the twentieth century and immerses us in the lives, loves and fluctuating fortunes of a family we'll never forget. Fans of Rosamunde Pilcher, Maeve Binchy and Fiona Valpy will not be disappointed.

READERS ARE LOVING A SCATTERING OF DAISIES!
'I have read this book so many times over the years, I just LOVE it!' -- ***** Reader review
'An amazing inter-generational story that I kept reading way too fast' -- ***** Reader review
'Excellent read, very enjoyable.' -- ***** Reader review
'Loved this book [...], well written and down to earth. Just the way I like it!' -- ***** Reader review


**************************************************************************************************
ARE DREAMS AND DETERMINATION ENOUGH TO CHANGE YOUR LIFE?

Will Rising had dragged himself from humble beginnings to his own small tailoring business in Gloucester - and on the way he'd fallen violently in love with Florence - who was refined, delicate, and wanting something better for her children.

March was the eldest girl - the least loved: plain, unattractive and, with the best will in the world, the household drudge. Yet, as strange, intelligent and unhappy as she was, March had inherited some of her mother's dreams and she was determined to break out of the round of poverty and hard work, to find wealth, and love, and happiness.

Did she have it in her to achieve her desires? And what could the future possibly hold in store?

A Scattering of Daisies is the first book in the Rising Family sequence and is followed by The Daffodils of Newent, Bluebell Windows and Rosemary for Remembrance.

About the author

Susan Sallis

Susan Sallis was the author of over twenty bestselling novels, many of them set in the West Country. She was born in Gloucestershire and lived in Somerset with her family. She died in 2020.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more