Bluebell Windows

Bluebell Windows

Summary

Bluebell Windows continues the story of the Rising Girls, begun in A Scattering of Daisies and The Daffodils of Newent. Fans of Rosamunde Pilcher, Maeve Binchy and Fiona Valpy will love this captivating and compelling saga from multi-million copy seller and Sunday Times bestselling author Susan Sallis, that expertly captures the lives and emotions of a family in the run up to World War Two.

READERS ARE LOVING BLUEBELL WINDOWS!
'An engrossing read' -- ***** Reader review
'An amazing inter-generational story that I kept reading way too fast' -- ***** Reader review
'Excellent read, very enjoyable.' -- ***** Reader review
'Loved this book [...], well written and down to earth. Just the way I like it!' -- ***** Reader review

**************************************************************************************************
BEHIND SEEMINGLY HAPPY FAMILIES, ANYTHING CAN LIE HIDDEN...

The Rising sisters - the Daffodil Girls - are older now. The anguish of growing up in the twenties has gone. All three are - apparently - happily married and there are children to swell the vibrant Rising family.

But the problems that had begun in youth still remained.

March, the eldest and the most difficult, loves but cannot trust her clever, manipulating husband. He deserted her once and she has never quite forgiven him.

May has her own worries - a son who seems more than usually promiscuous, and a husband who grows more attractive and handsome even as she approaches her fortieth birthday.

April has a husband she loves, and two small, gentle daughters. But she is the only one who knows that Davina is not her husband's child.

As the country heads towards unsettling times, can they find the strength and unity they'll need?

Bluebell Windows is the third book in the Rising Family sequence and is followed by Rosemary for Remembrance. The story began in A Scattering of Daisies and The Daffodils of Newent.

About the author

Susan Sallis

Susan Sallis was the author of over twenty bestselling novels, many of them set in the West Country. She was born in Gloucestershire and lived in Somerset with her family. She died in 2020.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more