Reaper Man

Reaper Man

(Discworld Novel 11)


'Inside every living person is a dead person waiting to get out.'

Death has been fired by the Auditors of Reality for the heinous crime of developing . . . a personality. Sent to live like everyone else, Death takes a new name and begins working as a farmhand. He's got the scythe already, after all.

And for humanity, Death is just . . . gone. Which leads to the kind of chaos you always get when an important public service is withdrawn. If Death doesn't come for you, then what are you supposed to do in the meantime?

You can't have the undead wandering about like lost souls - there's no telling what might happen. Particularly when they discover that life really is only for the living . . .

'One taste, and you'll scour bookstores for more' Daily Mail

Reaper Man is the second book in the Death series, but you can read the Discworld novels in any order.


  • 'If you're an established fan, you'll enjoy this as much as the others; if you're new to Pratchett, what the hell took you so long?'
    Time Out

About the author

Terry Pratchett

Terry Pratchett was the acclaimed creator of the global bestselling Discworld series, the first of which, The Colour of Magic, was published in 1983. In all, he was the author of over fifty bestselling books which have sold over 100 million copies worldwide. His novels have been widely adapted for stage and screen, and he was the winner of multiple prizes, including the Carnegie Medal. He was awarded a knighthood for services to literature in 2009, although he always wryly maintained that his greatest service to literature was to avoid writing any.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more