The House Of Bonneau

The House Of Bonneau

An emotional and heartbreaking saga you’ll never forget...

Summary

Perfect for fans of Kitty Neale, Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin, this is the powerful sequel to Madeleine written by multi-million copy seller Elvi Rhodes.

READERS ARE LOVING THE HOUSE OF BONNEAU!

"Another brilliant family saga book. Read this in one sitting. Loved everything about it ... Based in Yorkshire." - 5 STARS
"Loved this saga. Was drawn right into the story & the characters. Stayed up late and could not tear myself away from the story. Love this author's writing." - 5 STARS
"I could not put it down - you really get wrapped up in the characters because she writes so brilliantly..." - 5 STARS.

*****************************************************************
WILL SHE LOSE EVERYTHING SHE FOUGHT SO HARD TO GAIN?

When Madeleine Bates - born into poverty as the daughter of a Yorkshire millhand - married Leon Bonneau - the French wool baron - she felt her life of turmoil was over. Whatever problems came their way, surely love would see them through?

Yet trouble still dogs her and she feels she is alone: Leon's family resent her for taking him away from them and Hortense Murer - who assumed she would be Leon's wife - begrudges her.

She also cannot help but dwell on the curse made by her old enemy Sophia Parkinson: that she would never bear a son. For it seems to be coming true...

About the author

Elvi Rhodes

Elvi Rhodes was born and educated in Yorkshire. She is the author of many bestselling novels including Opal, Doctor Rose, Ruth Appleby, The Golden Girls, Madeleine, The House of Bonneau, Cara's Land, The Rainbow Through the Rain, The Bright One, The Mountain, Portrait of Chloe, Spring Music, Midsummer Meeting, The Birthday Party, Mulberry Lane, A Blessing In Disguise and The Apple Tree. A collection of stories, Summer Promise and Other Stories, is also published by Corgi Books.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more