Ruth Appleby

Ruth Appleby

The inspiring and uplifting story of one woman’s quest for a better life…


An emotional and moving epic saga of determination and drive by multi-million copy seller Elvi Rhodes, perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin, Dilly Court and Catherine Cookson.

"One of the books that a person can read countless times and still enjoy every page. It's magical..." - 5 STARS.
"Got totally lost in the pages." - 5 STARS.
"Another brilliant book by this author based in Yorkshire again. Family saga at its best. Will definitely read more by this author" - 5 STARS



Life for Ruth Appleby has never been easy - burying her mother at 12; a meagre existence as the daughter of a Victorian millhand; hard work as a glorified mother and housekeeper at home.

Longing to escape the bleak Yorkshire moors and desperate for adventure, she seizes the opportunity to venture on her own to America - a land on the brink of Civil War - to build the life she wants for herself.

Can she rise to the challenges America throws at her and find the life and love she has always desired?

About the author

Elvi Rhodes

Elvi Rhodes was born and educated in Yorkshire. She is the author of many bestselling novels including Opal, Doctor Rose, Ruth Appleby, The Golden Girls, Madeleine, The House of Bonneau, Cara's Land, The Rainbow Through the Rain, The Bright One, The Mountain, Portrait of Chloe, Spring Music, Midsummer Meeting, The Birthday Party, Mulberry Lane, A Blessing In Disguise and The Apple Tree. A collection of stories, Summer Promise and Other Stories, is also published by Corgi Books.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more