An Ordinary Woman

An Ordinary Woman

An utterly captivating and uplifting story of one woman’s strength and determination…

Summary

From the Sunday Times bestselling author Susan Sallis comes a wonderfully evocative novel, perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy, Fiona Valpy and Rosamunde Pilcher.

READERS ARE LOVING AN ORDINARY WOMAN!
"A remarkable story of love, life, pleasures and hazards. Strong characters who define this story. Excellent read and would strongly recommend Susan Sallis" -- 5 STARS
"The storyline was captivating from the start..." - 5 STARS
"This book held me from the first page to the last!" - 5 STARS
"Very good story, loved every minute..." - 5 STARS

***********************************************
WHEN NEEDED, WILL SHE BE ABLE TO RISE TO THE CHALLENGE?

1945, Connecticut.
A scandal breaks which forces a baffled Rose, aged four, and her mother to leave America and return home to England.

The following May, a sister is born - Joanna or 'Jon'. Rose and Jon are like chalk and cheese. Jon is vivacious, fun, impetuous, rash and persuasive. Rose is reserved, steady, sure, reliable and...ordinary. It is her lot in life to hold the family together through times of tragedy and emotional upheaval.

But, when, years later, Jon sets events in motion which send Rose across the Atlantic again and into the most extraordinary event of her life, can she ever be thought of as ordinary again?

About the author

Susan Sallis

Susan Sallis was the author of over twenty bestselling novels, many of them set in the West Country. She was born in Gloucestershire and lived in Somerset with her family. She died in 2020.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more