The Choir

The Choir

Summary

Lose yourself in this absorbing and touching novel about change and the challenge to accept it from multi-million copy bestselling author Joanna Trollope. Beautifully written with exquisitely drawn characters and demonstrating a superb ability to understand people and relationships, it is perfect for readers of Elizabeth Noble, Erica James and Amanda Prowse.

'A beautifully drawn portrait of Cathedral life' -- Sunday Express

'A modern Barchester Chronicle' -- Sunday Telegraph
'Richly satisfying' -- Evening Standard
'Another wonderful book, I thoroughly enjoyed it. Joanna Trollope never disappoints' -- ***** Reader review
'Another tour de force by Trollope' -- ***** Reader review
'One of those stories that stay with you' -- ***** Reader review

***********************************************************************************

ONLY A MIRACLE CAN UNITE A CONGREGATION IN TURMOIL...

In the gentle precinct of Aldminster Cathedral, crisis looms.

The urbane and worldly Dean wants nothing so much as to restore and beautify his beloved Cathedral - even if it means sacrificing the Choir School to pay for it.

Alexander Troy, Headmaster of the school, a conscientious man, is determined that nothing and no-one - certainly not the overbearing Dean - should destroy the Choir.

As the rift widens to take on immense dimensions, many others find themselves caught in the schism - Leo Beckford, brilliant but wayward organist, repelling the adoration of the Dean's dreadful daughter; the gentle, left-wing Bishop, trying to soothe the angry protagonists; Sally Ashworth, mother of the leading chorister, fighting loneliness and an erring and absent husband...

Each frail and human dilemma takes its part in the greater turmoil of Chapter and Close and the final battle for the survival of the Choir.

Reviews

  • A beautifully drawn portrait of Cathedral life
    Sunday Express

About the author

Joanna Trollope

Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more