Fortunata and Jacinta

Fortunata and Jacinta


Galdos's four-part Fortunata and Jacinta (1886-7), the masterpiece among his almost 80 novels, tells the turbulent story of two women, their husbands and their lovers, set against the intricate web of dynastic alliances and class contrasts of Madrid in the 1870s.

About the author

Benito Pérez Galdós

Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more