Loving What Is

Loving What Is

Four Questions That Can Change Your Life


Loving What Is by bestselling author Byron Katie is a simple, straightforward antidote to the suffering we unnecessarily create for ourselves and has inspired and help millions of people transform their pain into freedom. Written in an easy-to-follow, interactive and accessible way and drawing on illustrative case studies, reading this is the first step to turning your life around and achieving inner peace and harmony...

'A great blessing for our planet' -- Eckhart Tolle

'Her method can cut through years of self-delusion and rationalisation' -- Los Angeles Times
'A pragmatic and simple way of getting people to take responsibility for their own problems' -- Time Magazine
'Mind blown - [this is the] best book I have read of this type since Power of Now. Really helped me to let go of beliefs and judgements that aren't serving me. Thanks for writing it.' -- ***** Reader review
'Amazing, life changing' -- ***** Reader review
'A massively inspiring book' -- ***** Reader review
'Very easy to read and an absolute gem!' -- ***** Reader review
'Life changing (really)' -- ***** Reader review

A thought is harmless unless we believe it

Drawing on her own experience of moving through suffering to freedom, Byron Katie developed 'The Work': a simple, four-step programme to help pinpoint the problems that are troubling you and how to tackle them effectively.

A life-transforming system for discarding the stories at the source of our suffering, this is your guide to finding inner peace and happiness.


  • A pragmatic and simple way of getting people to take responsibility for their own problems
    Time Magazine

About the authors

Byron Katie

Byron Katie is the author of bestsellers Loving What Is, I Need Your Love - Is That True? and A Thousand Names for Joy. She is renowned for her creation of 'The Work', a four-step method of self-inquiry.
Learn More

Stephen Mitchell

Katie's co-author, Stephen Mitchell, is the author of many bestselling works including Tao Te Ching, The Selected Poetry of Rainer Maria Rilke, Gilgamesh, The Gospel According to Jesus, The Book of Job, The Second Book of the Tao, The Iliad, and The Odyssey. He lives with his wife in Berkeley, California.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more