Sloop Of War

Sloop Of War

(The Richard Bolitho adventures: 6): a swashbuckling naval tale of derring – do and all-action adventure from the master storyteller of the sea

Summary

Multi-million copy seller Alexander Kent, brings us another rip-roaring and riveting maritime page-turner. Fans of Patrick O'Brian and C. S. Forester will not be disappointed!

'Mr Kent is Forester's direct heir, and is rapidly showing himself an equal in the genre.' -- Sunday Times

'C. S. Forester never wrote a more exciting novel than Alexander Kent.' -- New York Times Book Review
'A splendid yarn' -- The Times
'A tale of angry passion, envy and adventure' -- Bookseller
'Boy, is this good stuff! Can hardly wait to pick up the next book' -- ***** Reader review
'The author knows how to keep the reader enthralled' -- ***** Reader review
'Hard to stop reading' -- ***** Reader review
'Couldn't put it down from start to finish' -- ***** Reader review
**********************************************************************
1778: a seminal year for the young Richard Bolitho... The American War of Independence changes to an all-out struggle for freedom from British rule - and Bolitho takes command of the Sparrow, a small, fast and well-armed sloop of war.

As the pace of war increases, the Sparrow is called from one crisis to another - and when the great fleets of Britain and France convene on the Chesapeake, Bolitho has to throw aside the early dreams of his first command to find maturity in a sea battle that might decide the fate of a whole continent.

Bolitho's adventures continue in To Glory We Steer.

Reviews

  • One of our foremost writers of naval fiction
    Sunday Times

About the author

Alexander Kent

Alexander Kent's great interest in the ships and men of the eighteenth century navy was aroused when he was still at school. Although he attended fleet reviews and explored modern warships and dockyards with his father, he found that the great days of square riggers and battles at close quarters captured his imagination. H.M.S. Victory, Nelson's flagship at Trafalgar, was always high on his list of regular visits.

He served in the Royal Navy as a young man, and saw action in the Battle of the Atlantic and other major theatres of war, but his first love of the great days of sail remained unshaken.

Now firmly established as a leading writer of authentic sea stories, he was the author of twenty-eight acclaimed books featuring Richard Bolitho. Under his own name, Douglas Reeman, and in the course of a career spanning forty-five years, he wrote over thirty novels and two non-fiction books. He died in January 2017.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more