Venus In Copper

Venus In Copper

(Marco Didius Falco: book III): another gripping foray into the crime and corruption of Ancient Rome from bestselling author Lindsey Davis

Summary

Fans of S. J. Parris, Donna Leon, Steven Saylor, C. J. Sansom will love this exciting and enthralling historical mystery from multi-million copy bestselling author Lindsey Davis. Expertly weaving an authentic depiction of Ancient Rome with exceptional characterisation and a tightly woven plot, this will have you hooked.

'Another redolent dip into corruption in Vespasian's Rome ... original and delightful' -- Sunday Times
'A tumultuous Ancient Rome with a delightful modern eye' -- Sunday Times
'Fast-moving, funny and full of atmosphere' -- Mail on Sunday
'A thrilling murder mystery' -- ***** Reader review
'Such fun!' -- ***** Reader review
'Another corking Falco' -- ***** Reader review
'My advice is BUY IT and READ IT as you will not regret it' -- ***** Reader review

***********************************************************************************
MARRY IN HASTE. DIE FOR THE MONEY.

Things are going well for Marcus Didius Falco, ancient Rome's investigator: he hates sharing a cell with a rodent, although being bailed by his old mother is almost as embarrassing; his highborn girlfriend can't decide if she wants him and Titus Caesar's reward for past services is disappointing to say the least.

Hoping for a better life, or at least a better apartment, he takes on new clients.

On the elegant slopes of the Pincian Hill, three freedmen with two flashy wives are under siege by a clever redhead. Severina Zotica has a foul-mouthed parrot, an odd connection with a snake dancer - and a very suspicious past.

As he pursues this flame-haired fortune-hunter, Falco finds himself beset by violent rent-racketeers, poisoners, and women without consciences who have dangerous designs on him...

About the author

Lindsey Davis

Lindsey Davis has written over twenty historical novels, beginning with The Course of Honour. Her bestselling mystery series features laid-back First Century detective Marcus Didius Falco and his partner Helena Justina, plus friends, relations, pets and bitter enemy the Chief Spy. After an English degree at Oxford University Lindsey joined the Civil Service, but became a professional author in 1989. Her books are translated into many languages and have been dramatized on BBC Radio 4. Her many prizes include the Premio Colosseo, awarded by the Mayor of Rome ‘for enhancing the image of Rome’, the Sherlock award for Falco as Best Comic Detective and the Crimewriters’ Association Cartier Diamond Dagger for lifetime achievement.

For more information, please visit www.lindseydavis.co.uk.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more