Sarum

Sarum

30th anniversary edition of the bestselling novel of England

Summary

PRAISE FOR SARUM

'A high-speed cavalcade of our island story' DAILY EXPRESS
'Supremely well crafted and a delight to read' CHICAGO TRIBUNE
'A thundering good read' THE BOOKSELLER
'A richly imagined vision of history' SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE

_______________________________

FIVE INTERCONNECTED FAMILIES

Sarum weaves an enthralling saga of five families - the Wilsons, the Masons, the family of Porteus, the Shockleys, and the Godfreys - who reflect the changing character of Britain.

CENTURIES OF TURMOIL AND TYRANNY

In a novel of extraordinary richness, the whole sweep of British civilization unfolds through the story of one place, Sailsbury, from beyond recorded time to the present day. The landscape - as old as time itself - shapes the destinies of the five families.

AN EPIC SAGA

Tracing historical moments from the Ice Age through to the present day, all set against the backdrop of an ever-changing England, Sarum is a novel of breathtaking scope, perfect for fans of Ken Follett and Diana Gabaldon.

Reviews

  • A heck of a story ... a grand read
    Daily Mail

About the author

Edward Rutherfurd

Edward Rutherfurd was born in England, in the cathedral city of Salisbury. Educated locally, and at the universities of Cambridge, and Stanford, California, he worked in political research, bookselling and publishing. After numerous attempts to write books and plays, he finally abandoned his career in the book trade in 1983, and returned to his childhood home to write Sarum. Four years later, when the book was published, it became an instant international bestseller, remaining 23 weeks on the New York Times Bestseller List.

Since then he has written seven more bestsellers: Russka, a novel of Russia; London; The Forest, set in England's New Forest which lies close by Sarum; two novels which cover the story of Ireland from the time just before Saint Patrick to the twentieth century; New York; and Paris. His books have been translated into over twenty languages.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more