Control

Control

(Reuben Maitland: book 4): a heart-stopping and engrossing nightmarish thriller that you won’t be able to stop reading

Summary

Fans of Kathy Reichs, Karin Slaughter and Patricia Cornwell will love this hard-hitting and riveting forensic thriller by bestselling author John Macken.

"Cutting -edge forensics, an all-too-human hero and a nightmarish scenario: Control is one you won't put down" - Simon Beckett

"Tense and absorbing" - OBSERVER
"This kept me engrossed from start to finish" -- ***** Reader review
"Has everything a good crime thriller should have: killings, suspense, terror..." -- ***** Reader review

********************************************************


IF YOUR CHILD WAS KIDNAPPED, HOW FAR WOULD YOU GO TO GET THEM BACK?

Two murders, days apart but clearly linked. Each victim has had the tips of their fingers removed with a hacksaw. The killer is sending a message and wants his next victim to know who they are - and be very afraid. But beside the gruesome nature of their deaths there is no obvious connection between the two victims.

Reuben Maitland, freshly returned to GeneCrime, must investigate the case. The forensics come in, DNA is sampled, the clues begin to mount up.

Then the killer strikes again. Reuben's young son, Joshua, is snatched from his pram. The murderer sends Reuben a message: 'Stop hunting me. I will kill again, a third and final victim and you must not stop me. Come after me and your son will die.

Reviews

  • Cutting-edge forensics, an all-too-human hero and a nightmarish scenario: Control is one you won't put down
    Simon Beckett

About the author

John Macken

Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more