Siege

Siege

(Scope 1)
Audio Download

Summary

Sunday Times bestselling author Simon Kernick - the UK's answer to Harlan Coben - has done it again. Siege is not for the faint-hearted - a relentlessly fast-paced, high-octane, race-against-the-clock thriller, it's perfect for fans of David Baldacci, Stuart MacBride and Peter James.

'Pacy, violent and gripping' -- The Sun
'A murder-a-minute gallop which successfully relies on sheer pace' -- Daily Telegraph
'Nail-bitingly tense, Siege is genuinely unputdownable' -- Irish Independent
'A first class read' -- ***** Reader review
'I love reading Simon Kernick books - they keep you gripped from page one and this one is no different' -- ***** Reader review
'Good, old-fashioned thriller action...marvellous!' -- ***** Reader review
'A book that you cannot put down' -- ***** Reader review
*************************************************************
WHO WILL SURVIVE?

LONDON. THE STANHOPE HOTEL, PARK LANE. 16.00.
A normal afternoon.

THE MANAGER
Newly engaged Elena Serenko has just made the life-changing decision to quit her job and start a new life in Australia.

THE GUESTS
Upstairs, a young woman waits for her lover; a visiting family prepare for an evening out; and a sick man contemplates his own mortality.

THE ASSASSIN
High up amongst the penthouse suites, a skilled and dangerous killer is hunting a quarry who's eluded him for far too long.

THE SIEGE
What none of them know is that a group of ruthless gunmen are about to burst into the Stanhope, shooting indiscriminately, and seizing hostages.

As darkness falls and the gunmen become increasingly violent, only one thing matters. Who will survive?

About the author

Simon Kernick

Simon Kernick is one of Britain’s most exciting thriller writers. He arrived on the crime writing scene with his highly acclaimed debut novel The Business of Dying, the story of a corrupt cop moonlighting as a hitman. Simon's big breakthrough came with his novel Relentless which was the biggest selling thriller of 2007. His most recent crime thrillers include Siege, Ultimatum, Stay Alive and The Final Minute. He is also the author of the bestselling three-part serial thrillers Dead Man’s Gift and One By One.

Simon talks both on and off the record to members of the Counter Terrorism Command and the Serious and Organised Crime Agency, so he gets to hear first hand what actually happens in the dark and murky underbelly of UK crime.
Learn More

More in this series

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more