The Sweetest Thing

The Sweetest Thing

a heart-warming and emotional West Country novel by bestselling author Susan Sallis

Summary

In this compelling story, by multi-million copy seller and Sunday Times bestselling author Susan Sallis, one day changes the lives of many forever. Fans of Rosamunde Pilcher, Maeve Binchy and Fiona Valpy will not be disappointed...

'Susan Sallis's West Country novels have...a character insight that is all her own' - DAILY MAIL
'I truly loved it' -- ***** Reader review
'Excellent read, very enjoyable.' -- ***** Reader review

**************************************************************************************
AN IDYLLIC SUMMER ENDS IN TRAGEDY...

Cornwall 1960: A whole new world unfolds for young Connie Vickers as she holidays with her brand-new fiancé William.

Finding the prospect of marriage a little daunting, Connie relishes the freedom that the Cornish coastline offers her and revels in solitary walks to gather her thoughts.

But a strange encounter with a beautiful blond boy on the beach leads to a terrible tragedy, the consequences of which are to affect Connie and William for the rest of their lives.

About the author

Susan Sallis

Susan Sallis was the author of over twenty bestselling novels, many of them set in the West Country. She was born in Gloucestershire and lived in Somerset with her family. She died in 2020.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more