The Black Reckoning

The Black Reckoning

The Books of Beginning 3


The final instalment in the Books of Beginning series.

Emma, Michael and Kate are locked in a race against time: to find their parents; to defeat the evil Dire Magnus; and to locate the final Book of Beginning. When all three books are united, their power will be unstoppable.

Embarking on a perilous journey to the land of the dead, Emma is forced to confront terrifying monsters and ghosts. As the fabric of time begins to fray, she becomes the final piece of an extraordinary puzzle.

Only she can master the Book of Death.


  • This fantasy trilogy closes with both satisfying finality and the realistic, requisite heartbreak that comes with saying goodbye.
    Kirkus Reviews

About the author

John Stephens

Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more