Tomorrow There Will be Apricots

Tomorrow There Will be Apricots

Summary

A heartbreaking debut about family, love, grief and food. Perfect for fans of Joanne Harris' Chocolat and Julia Powell's Julie & Julia.

Victoria, eighty and recently bereaved, is lonely and needs to find a way to reconnect with the world. When she starts teaching cooking classes she doesn’t expect Lorca, a troubled teenager, to be her first pupil. Lorca is desperate to find a way into her mother’s affections and as a last attempt decides to track down the recipe for her ideal meal, an obscure Middle Eastern dish called masgouf.

As Lorca and Victoria form an unexpected bond over almond and pistachio cookies and baklava, they begin to suspect they are connected in more ways than just their love of food.

Reviews

  • A profound and necessary new voice. Soffer's prose is as controlled as it is fresh, as incisive as it is musical. Soffer has arrived early, with an orchestra of talent at her disposal.
    Colum McCann

About the author

Jessica Soffer

Jessica Soffer earned her MFA at Hunter College. Her work has appeared in Granta, the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal and Vogue. She teaches fiction at Connecticut College and lives in New York. Tomorrow There Will Be Apricots is her first novel.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more