The Witness

The Witness

(DI Ray Mason: Book 1): a gripping, race-against-time thriller by the best-selling author Simon Kernick

Summary

This engrossing and unputdownable fast-paced thriller from Sunday Times bestselling author Simon Kernick, the UK's answer to Harlan Coben, is perfect for fans of David Baldacci, Stuart MacBride and Peter James. Guaranteed to get your blood pumping - a real edge-of-your-seat ride!

'
Hang on tight!' - Harlan Coben

'Full of Kernick's trademark cheerful amoral characters, it's irresistible entertainment' -- Sunday Mirror
'A spectacularly fast moving and captivating read.' -- Lovereading
'Wow I absolutely loved this book from start to finish' -- ***** Reader review
'I couldn't put it down and read it within 24 hours of getting it!' -- ***** Reader review
'Fast paced thriller with the twists and turns that keeps you enthralled from the first page to the last' -- ***** Reader review
'Full of tension and excitement' -- ***** Reader review
****************************************************************************************
YOU'VE SEEN TOO MUCH. NOWHERE IS SAFE NOW.

THE WITNESS
When Jane Kinnear sees her lover being murdered, she suddenly finds herself in danger. Taken to an anonymous police safe-house, it soon becomes clear that her lover was an MI5 informant with important information about an imminent terrorist attack.

THE DETECTIVE
DI Ray Mason of Counter Terrorism Command is a man with a controversial past, but his effectiveness at getting results means that he's now been given the task of preventing the attack from taking place. But can he be trusted, and does he know more about the attack than he's letting on?

THE KILLER
In the safe-house, Jane is trying to piece together a description of her lover's killer. But what she doesn't know is that the killer has already found out who she is, and where she is hiding.

And now he's coming for her ...

Reviews

  • Full of Kernick’s trademark cheerful amoral characters, it’s irresistible entertainment
    Sunday Mirror

About the author

Simon Kernick

Simon Kernick is one of Britain’s most exciting thriller writers. He arrived on the crime writing scene with his highly acclaimed debut novel The Business of Dying, the story of a corrupt cop moonlighting as a hitman. Simon's big breakthrough came with his novel Relentless which was the biggest selling thriller of 2007. His most recent crime thrillers include Siege, Ultimatum, Stay Alive and The Final Minute. He is also the author of the bestselling three-part serial thrillers Dead Man’s Gift and One By One.

Simon talks both on and off the record to members of the Counter Terrorism Command and the Serious and Organised Crime Agency, so he gets to hear first hand what actually happens in the dark and murky underbelly of UK crime.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more