The Quick Red Fox

The Quick Red Fox

(Travis McGee: 4): an edge-of-your-seat thriller from the grandmaster of American crime fiction

Summary

The Travis McGee series by John D MacDonald - bestselling author and the inspiration behind a generation of crime writers - is one for fans of Lee Child, Michael Connelly and John Grisham not to miss. This high-octane and all-action thriller with its witty turn of phrase and standout characterisation will have you gripped.

'MacDonald had a huge influence on me . . . Reacher is like a fully detached version of Travis McGee' - LEE CHILD
'The great entertainer of our age, and a mesmerizing storyteller' - STEPHEN KING
'To diggers a thousand years from now, the works of John D. MacDonald would be a treasure on the order of the tomb of Tutankhamen.' - KURT VONNEGUT
'. . . my favorite novelist of all time' - DEAN KOONTZ
'Great page turners, always some great lines and observations in there that are still relevant.' -- ***** Reader review
'Fantastic writing' -- ***** Reader review
'Magnificent' -- ***** Reader review

***************************************************************
Travis McGee isn't your typical knight in shining armour. He only works when his cash runs out, and his rule is simple: He'll help you find whatever was taken from you, as long as he can keep half.

Hollywood's leading lady Lysa Dean isn't in the business of making mistakes. But a night involving a debauched party and some naked photos turns out to be one mistake too many. If the pictures get out, Lysa's engagement to her rich, strait-laced fiancé won't stand a chance. She needs someone to set her life back on track.

Travis McGee has his own reasons for taking the job. He soon finds himself led on a wild chase across the country, trying to track down everyone associated with the fateful evening.

But just when Travis thinks he knows exactly where things are headed, one big twist shakes his very core...

First published in 1964, The Quick Red Fox features an introduction by Lee Child

***********************************************************************************
Further Praise for the Travis McGee series:

'The consummate pro, a master storyteller and witty observer . . . The Travis McGee novels are among the finest works of fiction ever penned by an American author and they retain a remarkable sense of freshness' - Jonathan Kellerman

'Travis McGee is my favourite fiction detective. He's great because he has a philosophical side - he will fight a bunch of mobsters in a car park and then have a muse about life, the universe and everything' - Tony Parsons

'A dominant influence on writers crafting the continuing series character . . . I envy the generation of readers just discovering Travis McGee' - Sue Grafton

'A master storyteller, a masterful suspense writer . . . John D. MacDonald is a shining example for all of us in the field' - Mary Higgins Clark

'What a joy that these timeless and treasured novels are available again' - Ed McBain

'There's only one thing as good as reading a John D. MacDonald novel: reading it again . . . He is the all-time master of the American mystery novel' - John Saul

Reviews

  • The great entertainer of our age, and a mesmerizing storyteller
    Stephen King

About the author

John D MacDonald

Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more