A Deadly Shade of Gold: Introduction by Lee Child

A Deadly Shade of Gold: Introduction by Lee Child

(Travis McGee: 5): an unmissable and unputdownable thriller from the grandmaster of American crime fiction

Summary

John D MacDonald - bestselling author and the inspiration behind a generation of crime writers - has penned a thriller so compelling and addictive and full of intrigue and incident, you won't be able to stop reading. Perfect for fans of Lee Child, Michael Connelly and John Grisham, this suspenseful mystery will get right under your skin.

'MacDonald had a huge influence on me . . . Reacher is like a fully detached version of Travis McGee' -- LEE CHILD
'The great entertainer of our age, and a mesmerizing storyteller' -- STEPHEN KING
'To diggers a thousand years from now, the works of John D. MacDonald would be a treasure on the order of the tomb of Tutankhamen.' -- KURT VONNEGUT
'. . . my favorite novelist of all time' - DEAN KOONTZ
'Great page turners, always some great lines and observations in there that are still relevant.' -- ***** Reader review
'Fantastic writing' -- ***** Reader review
'Excellent - a classy thriller by a master of the genre' -- ***** Reader review
'An excellent read.....' -- ***** Reader review

***********************************************************************
Travis McGee isn't your typical knight in shining armour. He only works when his cash runs out, and his rule is simple: He'll help you find whatever was taken from you, as long as he can keep half.

When Travis McGee picks up the phone and hears a voice from his past, he can't help it: he has to meddle. Especially when he has the chance to reunite Sam, his reckless, restless old friend, with the woman who's been waiting for him.

But the case takes a sinister turn when Sam shows up brutally cut and lying in a pool of his own blood. Travis is left to uncover the truth in a violent chase that takes him to dark but beautiful Mexico.

But when the truth is as terrifying as this, does he really want answers at all?

First published in 1965, A Deadly Shade of Gold features an introduction by Lee Child

***********************************************************************************
Further Praise for the Travis McGee series:

'The consummate pro, a master storyteller and witty observer . . . The Travis McGee novels are among the finest works of fiction ever penned by an American author and they retain a remarkable sense of freshness' - Jonathan Kellerman

'Travis McGee is my favourite fiction detective. He's great because he has a philosophical side - he will fight a bunch of mobsters in a car park and then have a muse about life, the universe and everything' - Tony Parsons

'A dominant influence on writers crafting the continuing series character . . . I envy the generation of readers just discovering Travis McGee' - Sue Grafton

'A master storyteller, a masterful suspense writer . . . John D. MacDonald is a shining example for all of us in the field' - Mary Higgins Clark

'What a joy that these timeless and treasured novels are available again' - Ed McBain

'There's only one thing as good as reading a John D. MacDonald novel: reading it again . . . He is the all-time master of the American mystery novel' - John Saul

Reviews

  • The great entertainer of our age, and a mesmerizing storyteller
    Stephen King

About the author

John D MacDonald

Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more