One Fearful Yellow Eye : Introduction by Lee Child

One Fearful Yellow Eye : Introduction by Lee Child

(Travis McGee: 8): an enthralling and entrancing thriller from the grandmaster of American crime fiction

Summary

The Travis McGee series by John D MacDonald - bestselling author and the inspiration behind a generation of crime writers - is one for fans of Lee Child, Michael Connelly and John Grisham not to miss. This high-octane and all-action thriller with its witty turn of phrase and standout characterisation will have you gripped.

'MacDonald had a huge influence on me . . . Reacher is like a fully detached version of Travis McGee' - LEE CHILD
'The great entertainer of our age, and a mesmerizing storyteller' - STEPHEN KING
'To diggers a thousand years from now, the works of John D. MacDonald would be a treasure on the order of the tomb of Tutankhamen.' - KURT VONNEGUT
'. . . my favorite novelist of all time' - DEAN KOONTZ
'As usual a fascinating story line which grips you to the end' -- ***** Reader review
'Hugely enjoyable' -- ***** Reader review
'Brilliant mystery and thriller storytelling' -- ***** Reader review
'It is impossible to capture the liquid beauty of his writing' -- ***** Reader review
'Timeless tales - great when written, and still great today' -- ***** Reader review
'What a writer' -- ***** Reader review

***********************************************************
Travis McGee isn't your typical knight in shining armour. He only works when his cash runs out, and his rule is simple: He'll help you find whatever was taken from you, as long as he can keep half.

An ex-girlfriend of Travis McGee is convinced she's being watched. Her late husband, a world-renowned neurosurgeon, converted his considerable estate into cash before he died. The trouble is nobody can find it, including her. But there are those who don't believe her and will stop at nothing to prove it.

As Travis McGee tries to untangle the mess and protect his terrified ex-lover, he discovers that the doctor's enemies are far more determined than even he could have imagined . . .

First published in 1966, One Fearful Yellow Eye features an introduction by Lee Child

Reviews

  • The great entertainer of our age, and a mesmerizing storyteller
    Stephen King

About the author

John D MacDonald

Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more