The Summer of Secrets

The Summer of Secrets

Summary

'A wonderfully atmospheric first novel' Claire Fuller
'An evocative and atmospheric coming-of-age story' Carys Bray

The summer the Dovers move in next door, sixteen-year-old Helen's lonely world is at once a more thrilling place. She is infatuated with the bohemian family, especially the petulant and charming daughter Victoria.

As the long, hot days stretch out in front of them, Helen and Victoria grow inseparable. But when a stranger appears, Helen begins to question whether the secretive Dover family are really what they seem.

It’s the kind of summer when anything seems possible . . .

Until something goes wrong.

A suspenseful, spell-binding coming-of-age story about how one simple action on a summer's day can echo through the years. Perfect for fans of Louise Doughty's Apple Tree Yard, Liane Moriarty's The Husband's Secret and Helen Dunmore's The Lie.

Reviews

  • An evocative and atmospheric coming-of-age story
    Carys Bray, author of Richard and Judy Book Club pick A SONG FOR ISSY BRADLEY

About the author

Sarah Jasmon

Sarah Jasmon lives on a canal boat in Lancashire, which is also the setting for her two novels – The Summer of Secrets and You Never Told Me. She has written short stories for a wide selection of publications and in 2018 was shortlisted for the Harper’s Bazaar short story competition. She is an Associate Tutor in Creative Writing at Manchester Metropolitan University, and is currently studying for a PhD in Creative Geography.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more