The Lying Game

The Lying Game

The unpredictable thriller from the bestselling author of THE IT GIRL


'I could not put this book down' Reese Witherspoon'


The text message arrives in the small hours of the morning: I need you.

Isa drops everything, takes her baby daughter and heads straight to Salten. She spent the most significant days of her life at boarding school on the marshes there, days which still cast their shadow over her.

Isa and her three best friends used to play the Lying Game, competing to convince people of outrageous stories. Now, after seventeen years of hiding the truth, something terrible has been found on the beach. The friends' darkest secret is about to come to light...

Praise for THE LYING GAME:
'Atmospheric, mysterious, gripping' Marian Keyes

'Surprising twists' Daily Mail
'Another heart-stopping belter of a thriller from an epic talent' Heat
'A gripping, unpredictable narrative that shifts like sand underfoot' Erin Kelly

About the author

Ruth Ware

Ruth Ware is an international number one bestseller. Her thrillers In a Dark, Dark Wood, The Woman in Cabin 10, The Lying Game, The Death of Mrs Westaway and The Turn of the Key have appeared on bestseller lists around the world, including the Sunday Times and New York Times. Her books have been optioned for TV and film and she is published in more than 40 languages. Ruth lives near Brighton with her family.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more