Deadhouse Gates

Deadhouse Gates

Malazan Book of the Fallen 2


'This masterwork of the imagination may be the high watermark of epic fantasy.' Glen Cook

'This is true myth in the making, a drawing upon fantasy to recreate histories and legends as rich as any found within our culture' Interzone

In the Holy Desert Raraku, the seer Sha'ik and her followers prepare for the long-prophesied uprising named the Whirlwind.

Enslaved in the Otataral mines, Felisin - youngest scion of the disgraced House of Paran - dreams of freedom and vows revenge.

The outlawed Bridgeburners Fiddler and Kalam conspire to rid the world of the Empress Laseen - although it seems the gods would, as always, have it otherwise.

And as two ancient warriors - bearers of a devastating secret - enter this blighted land, so an untried commander of the Malaz 7th Army leads his war-weary troops in a last, valiant running battle to save the lives of thirty thousand refugees.

In this thrilling second chapter in the epic story of the Malazan empire, war and betrayal, intrigue and roiling magic collide, shaping destinies and giving birth to legends . . .

'One of the best fantasy novels of the year.' SF Site

'Arguably the best fantasy series ever written.' Fantasy Book Review


  • Arguably the best fantasy series ever written. This is of course subject to personal opinion . . . but few can deny that the quality and ambition of the ten books that make up The Malazan Book of the Fallen are unmatched within the genre

About the author

Steven Erikson

Archaeologist and anthropologist, Steven Erikson is the bestselling author of the genre-defining The Malazan Book of the Fallen, a multi-volume epic fantasy that's been hailed ‘a masterwork of the imagination’ and one of the top ten fantasy series of all time. The first novel in the series, Gardens of the Moon, was short-listed for the World Fantasy Award. He has also written several novellas set in the same world. Forge of Darkness is the first Kharkanas novel and takes readers back to the origins of the Malazan world. Fall of Light continues this epic tale. A lifelong science fiction reader, he has also written fiction affectionately parodying a long-running SF television series and Rejoice, a novel of first contact. The God is Not Willing is the opening chapter in a new sequence – The Tales of Witness – and is set in the world of the Malazan Empire, ten years after the events recounted in The Crippled God.
Steven Erikson lives in Victoria, Canada. To find out more, visit – and he's also on Facebook: Steven Erikson–Author.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more