Rose and the Burma Sky

Rose and the Burma Sky

The heartrending unrequited love story of a black soldier in the Second World War

Summary

For readers of Yaa Gyasi, Esi Edugyan and Toni Morrison - gripping and intimate historical novel of a black soldier's experience in the Second World War - a rare, moving and authentic tale of love and sacrifice by the acclaimed author of THE BOOK OF ECHOES.

One war, one soldier, one enduring love

1939: In a village in south-east Nigeria at the brink of world, young Obi watches from a mango tree as a colonial army jeep whooshes by, filled with soldiers laughing and shouting, their buttons shining in the sun. To Obi, their promise of a smart uniform and regular wages is hard to resist, especially as he has his sweetheart Rose to impress and a family to support.

Years later, when Rose falls pregnant to another man, his heart is shattered. As the Burma Campaign mounts, and Obi is shipped out to fight, he is haunted by the mystery of Rose's lover. When his identity comes to light, Obi's devastation leads to a tragic chain of unexpected events.

In ROSE AND THE BURMA SKY, Rosanna Amaka weaves together the realities of war, the pain of first love and how following your heart might not always be the best course of action. Its gritty boy's-eye view brings a spare and impassioned intensity, charging it with universal resonance and power.

About the author

Rosanna Amaka

Learn More

More from this Author

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more