Island of Secrets

Island of Secrets

Escape to Cuba with this gripping beach read

Summary

Brought to you by Penguin.

'Rachel Rhys should be on everyone's summer reading lists' CLARE MACKINTOSH

Set in the exotic city of Havana on the cusp of revolution, an English woman discovers mystery, romance and scandal in the atmospheric new novel by Rachel Rhys for fans of Dinah Jeffries, Lucinda Riley and Santa Montefiore


Say, wouldn’t it be a gas if all of us here are pretending to be something we’re not?

1957: Iris Bailey is bored to death of working in the typing pool and living with her parents in Hemel Hempstead. A gifted portraitist with a talent for sketching guests at parties, she dreams of becoming an artist. So she can’t believe her luck when wealthy socialite Nell Hardman invites her to Havana to draw at the glittering wedding of her Hollywood director father.

Iris is thrilled to escape to a faraway city by the sea. But she soon realizes that the cocktails, tropical scents and azure skies mask a darker reality. As Cuba teeters on the edge of revolution and Iris’s heart melts for troubled photographer Joe, she discovers that someone in the charismatic Hardman family is hiding a terrible secret. Can she uncover the ugly truth behind the glamour and the dazzle before all their lives are torn apart?

PRAISE FOR RACHEL RHYS:

'Intoxicating' SANTA MONTEFIORE
'Transporting' SUNDAY TIMES
'A fabulous summer read' DAILY EXPRESS
'Escapist fun' SUNDAY EXPRESS
'Delicious' SARRA MANNING

©Rachel Rhys 2020 (P) Penguin Audio 2020

Reviews

  • A glamorous cocktail of gangsters and good eggs that shimmers and simmers in the heat of 1950s Havana. Intoxicating and thrilling
    VERONICA HENRY

About the author

Rachel Rhys

Rachel Rhys is the pseudonym of psychological thriller writer Tammy Cohen. Her debut, Dangerous Crossing, was a Richard and Judy Book Club pick and was followed by Fatal Inheritance and Island of Secrets. Rachel's latest novel, Murder at Black Rock Castle is classic Patricia Higshmith-eque crime with an irresistible Tuscan 1920s setting.
She lives in North London, with her three (allegedly) grown up children and her neurotic rescue dog.

Visit www.tammycohen.co.uk to find out more, or find her on facebook or twitter as @MsTamarCohen or on Instagram as @tammycohenwriter.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more