The Smuggler’s Wife

The Smuggler’s Wife

Summary

The brand new novel from bestselling author Evie Grace, set amongst the Napoleonic Wars in the 1800s. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Poldark.
_______________________

KENT 1815

Her heart led her to him, but will loyalty be enough to make her stay . . .

When the beautiful but naïve Grace Lennicker falls for Isaiah Feasey, son of a rival smuggling family and owner of a local tavern, her sisters try to intervene. But as tensions grow, there is another suitor also hoping to win her hand in marriage, the dashing and more favourable Albert Enderby, a young lieutenant in the Revenue.

Grace is unwittingly drawn back into the world of smuggling that her sisters fought hard to leave behind, and as violence erupts, she finds herself unable to stand by, knowing the rival gangs will kill anyone who stands in their way.

When her husband becomes involved, Grace is forced to make a difficult decision - turn him in and risk her life, or stay loyal and risk the lives of those she loves . . .

Praise for Evie Grace

'Intriguing' Val Wood
'A charming historical read that hits all the right notes' Woman's Weekly
'Heart-tugging saga of which Catherine Cookson would've approved' Peterborough Evening Telegraph

Reviews

  • There's a swashbuckling adventure quality that makes this trilogy finale stand out in the saga market. Grace has a flair for creating feisty women and rugged heroes . . .
    Peterborough Telegraph

About the author

Evie Grace

Evie Grace was born in Kent, and one of her earliest memories is of picking cherries with her grandfather who managed a fruit farm near Selling. Holidays spent in the Kent countryside and the stories passed down through her family inspired her to write her Maids of Kent trilogy.

Evie now lives in Devon with her partner and dog. She has a grown-up daughter and son.

She loves researching the history of the nineteenth century and is very grateful for the invention of the washing machine, having discovered how the Victorians struggled to do their laundry.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more