The Night She Disappeared

The Night She Disappeared

Summary

A cold case. An abandoned mansion. A family hiding a terrible secret. Prepare to be hooked . . .

'By far her best thriller yet.' Harlan Coben
'Insane suspense. I loved it.' Lee Child
'A gothic, multi-layered tale, deeply satisfying. We both loved it.' Richard & Judy Book Club pick
'UNBELIEVABLY good. I was utterly utterly agog.' Marian Keyes
'No one thickens a plot like Lisa Jewell. I couldn't put this book down ... It's SO GOOD!' Shari Lapena
'Compelling, deep, surprising, tense, modern.' Gillian McAllister
______________

Midsummer 2017: teenage mum Tallulah heads out on a date, leaving her baby son at home with her mother, Kim.

At 11 p.m. she sends her mum a text message. At 4.30 a.m. Kim awakens to discover that Tallulah has not come home.

Friends tell her that Tallulah was last seen heading to a pool party at a house in the woods nearby called Dark Place.

Tallulah never returns.

2018: walking in the woods behind the boarding school where her boyfriend has just started as a head teacher, Sophie sees a sign nailed to a fence.

A sign that says: DIG HERE . . .
______________

Readers can't get enough of The Night She Disappeared . . .

***** 'Strong emotive storytelling at its best.'
***** 'Who is Lisa Jewell and where has she been all my life? I would rank “Disappeared” as the best suspense/thriller novel I’ve read this year.'
***** 'This book will suck you in, chew you up and leave you feeling exhausted….but in the most delicious tormented way possible.'
***** 'An absolutely heart gripping and page turning story, I couldn't seem to put it down.'
***** 'Addictive from start to finish!'
______________

* More love for The Night She Disappeared *

'Masterly. Gripping from start to finish.' Joanne Harris
'This is Lisa's best book yet, and she always sets that bar high! I couldn't put it down.' Adele Parks
'A head-scratching, heart-racing, page-turning triumph.' Louise Candlish
'I loved this one so much - clever, slick and so intriguing. Lots of emotion and I love how all the sub-plots come together.' Mel Sherratt
'Another first-class mystery . . . Totally enthralling.' Harriet Tyce
'I predict another number one.' Erin Kelly
'I was superglued to the pages.' Mark Edwards
'Totally absorbing. I felt as though I'd slipped into the book and lived there for a few days, heart pounding. So so so amazing!' Katherine Heiny
'Intriguing and wonderfully dark' The Sun
'Good-natured, creepy and tense all at once.' Sarah Perry
'Nail-biting. Left me reeling.' Jane Corry
'A compelling psychological thriller full of twists and turns... ideal for fans of Ruth Rendell and Lianne Moriarty' YOURS book club

Lisa Jewell's books have sold over 5 million copies across all formats [Nielsen Bookscan, May 2024]
Lisa Jewell, Number One Sunday Times bestseller, March 2024

Reviews

  • I love all Lisa's books, but The Night She Disappeared is by far her best thriller yet.
    Harlan Coben

About the author

Lisa Jewell

Lisa Jewell's first novel, Ralph’s Party, was published in 1999 and was the best-selling debut novel of the year. Since then she has published another twenty-one novels, most lately a number of dark psychological thrillers, including Then She Was Gone, The Family Upstairs and None of This is True. Lisa is a number one New York Times and Sunday Times author who has sold over ten million books worldwide and been published in over twenty-five languages. She lives in north London with her husband, two daughters and a lovely dog called Daisy. @lisajewelluk on Twitter @lisajewelluk on Instagram @lisajewellofficial on Facebook.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more