The Stranded

The Stranded

Summary

Brought to you by Penguin.

A gripping near-future thriller: love triangles, betrayals and fights for freedom in a world turned upside-down . . . for fans of Suzanne Collins, Emily St John Mandel, and Bong Joon-ho's Snowpiercer.

Welcome to the Arcadia.

Once a luxurious cruise ship, it became a refugee camp after being driven from Europe by an apocalyptic war. Now it floats near the coastline of the Federated States - a leftover piece of a fractured USA.

For forty years, residents of the Arcadia have been prohibited from making landfall. It is a world of extreme haves and have nots, gangs and make-shift shelters.

Esther is a loyal citizen, working flat-out to have the rare chance to live a normal life as a medic on dry land. Ben is a rebel, planning something big to liberate the Arcadia once and for all.

When events throw them both together, their lives, and the lives of everyone on the ship, will change forever . . .

© Sarah Daniels 2022 (P) Penguin Audio 2022

About the author

Sarah Daniels

Sarah Daniels is an ex-archaeologist who escaped academia and now writes stories from her home in rural Lincolnshire. Her work has been published in various online magazines and has been nominated for Best British and Irish Flash Fiction and Best Small Fictions. This is her first novel and part of a duology.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more