A Mother’s Betrayal

A Mother’s Betrayal

A heart-stopping and compelling Victorian saga from the bestselling author of A Shilling for a Wife

Summary

<h2>The new page-turning and gritty Victorian saga from the bestselling author of A Shilling for a Wife, perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin</h2>

---------------------

Manchester, 1867

Mara longs for a peaceful life free of violence and poverty. But she has married into the O'Hara family, who have a reputation for drunkenness and quick tempers. Her eldest stepson Conrad is the worst of them all - a brute and a criminal who makes Mara's life a misery.

But when Conrad is accused of a crime he didn't commit, Mara is the only one who can prove his innocence. Perhaps this is her chance to finally free her family from his toxic influence . . .

Will Mara clear Conrad's name, or will she have the courage to break away from her stepson's villainy?

---------------------

Readers are loving A Mother's Betrayal:

***** 'Emma Hornby has done it again, with her brilliant storytelling... A big thank you to Emma'
***** 'What an excellent read... Emma Hornby writes some wonderful stories and this one hits the mark'
***** 'A heartbreakingly good read... Very worthy five stars and more from me it's a must read'
***** 'I do love to read Emma Hornby's books they are so atmospheric and draw you into the story from start to finish and make you want more. Excellent'
***** 'Wow, what a book. Its such an emotional roller-coaster... I devoured this in one sitting'

If you love historical fiction, Emma's newest WW2 saga, A Daughter's War, is coming in August 2022 and is available to pre-order now

Reviews

  • 'Emma Hornby writes strong, working-class women with heart and humour. The book is an absolute joy'
    Glenda Young, author of The Miner's Lass

About the author

Emma Hornby

Emma Hornby lives on a tight-knit working-class estate in Bolton and has read sagas all her life. Before pursuing a career as a novelist, she had a variety of jobs, from care assistant for the elderly, to working in a Blackpool rock factory. She was inspired to write after researching her family history; like the characters in her books, many generations of her family eked out life amidst the squalor and poverty of Lancashire's slums.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more