Under the Marsh

Under the Marsh

A Scottish Highlands thriller that will have your heart racing

Summary

<h3>'I'd read anything with DI Monica Kennedy in it, she's one of my favourite detectives.' Sarah Pearse, bestselling author of THE SANATORIUM</h3>

<h3>'G.R. Halliday's crime novels are always deeply absorbing and beautifully written page-turners, and Under the Marsh is no exception' B. P. Walter, bestselling author of THE DINNER GUEST</h3>

<h2>SHE NEVER CONFESSED. NOW SHE'S READY TO TALK.</h2>

Twelve years ago DI Monica Kennedy caught the notorious serial killer Pauline Tosh, imprisoning her for life.

When Pauline asks Monica to visit her at the remote Highlands Carselang prison, the detective thinks she's playing games.

But then Pauline hands her a hand-drawn map with a cross marking the desolate marsh lands near Inverness and Monica can't ignore it - she was always convinced there were more victims out there.

And when a body is discovered it looks like they've found a new name from Pauline's kill list.

But things are never that simple...

An atmospheric thriller set in the Scottish Highlands, perfect for fans of James Oswald, Ann Cleeves and Val McDermid.

Reviews

  • Deft characterisation, convoluted plot and more red herrings than the North Sea - Under the Marsh is a deft page-turner that doesn't disappoint.
    Andrew Greig

About the author

G. R. Halliday

G.R. Halliday was born in Edinburgh and grew up near Stirling in Scotland. He spent his childhood obsessing over the unexplained mysteries his father investigated, which has proved excellent inspiration for From the Shadows. The book was shortlisted for the McIlvanney Debut Prize 2019. G.R. Halliday now lives in the rural Highlands outside of Inverness, where he is able to pursue his favourite pastimes of mountain climbing and swimming in the sea, before returning home to his band of semi-feral cats. Dark Waters is his second novel.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more