The Break: The Complete Series 1-4

The Break: The Complete Series 1-4

A BBC Radio 4 comedy drama


Philip Jackson, Tom Palmer and Alison Steadman star in this BBC Radio sitcom set in the fictional Yorkshire seaside town of Flamford

'Enjoyably bonkers' Irish Mail on Sunday

Welcome to Flamford, the town sanity forgot...

Edgy, sharp-tongued City burn-out Andy Chambers has been advised, for the sake of his health, to take a break from his stressful London lifestyle and get some rest. So he goes to stay with his estranged uncle, Jeff Whitaker, at his seaside home in Flamford - but, as he soon discovers, living with his relative is far from relaxing.

Good-natured and relentlessly cheerful, Jeff is determined to bring the recalcitrant Andy out of himself, so he leads him on an odyssey round town to meet the (somewhat eccentric) locals - including Jeff's on-off paramour, Pest Control Officer Corinne; Fish Shop Frank, who serves up saithe with a smile; loud, lovelorn Town Crier Peter Humfriss; chiselling pensioner Mr Truepenny and vicar-with-a-past, The Reverend Beverley.

As uncle and nephew embark on a series of comic, poignant adventures - from a quest for a proper roast dinner to a hunt for a poison-pen reviewer - can Jeff break down Andy's barriers, and persuade him to enjoy life, Flamford-style?

Created by Ian Brown and James Hendrie (My Family, Dial M for Pizza), this warm-hearted, quirky sitcom stars Tom Palmer and James Northcote as Andy and Philip Jackson as Jeff, with a stellar supporting cast including Alison Steadman, Mark Benton, Shobna Gulati and Rasmus Hardiker.

This comprehensive collection also includes nine in-depth interviews with the cast and crew, in which they chat to producer Gordon Kennedy about the making of The Break. These never-before-heard behind-the-scenes discussions are a must for fans of the series.

Andy Chambers - Tom Palmer/James Northcote
Jeff - Philip Jackson
Fish Shop Frank/Sid/PC Clark/Peter Humfriss/Michael/Brian/Brendan Liversedge/Johnny Hussey-Gore-Marshbanks - Mark Benton
Pest Control Officer Corinne/Joyce/Morag/Mrs Metcalfe/Mrs Truepenny/Mrs Steggles/Dr Coulson/Meg - Alison Steadman
Max/Leonard the Pirate/Derek Horrox the Mayor/Mr Truepenny/Alan/Frank 2/Glenn/Alfred/Phil Loynes/Sean/Psycho Pete/Dieter Schmidt - Rasmus Hardiker
Julie/Mira/Rev Bev/Liz/Carenza/Station Tannoy/Kerry/Steph/Sally/Bryony/Pam/Francesca/Kate/Marcia - Shobna Gulati
Chris - Gordon Kennedy

Written by Ian Brown and James Hendrie
Produced and directed by Gordon Kennedy
Studio Engineered and Edited by Leon Chambers
Production Manager: Sarah Tombling
Executive Producer: Chris Pye
An Absolutely Production for BBC Radio 4

First broadcast BBC Radio 4, 30 May-4 July 2016 (Series 1), 14 May-18 June 2018 (Series 2), 10 June-15 July 2020 (Series 3), 10 June-15 July 2022 (Series 4)

© 2023 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd. (P) 2023 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd

About the authors

James Hendrie

Learn More

Ian Brown

Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more