Little Blighty on the Down: Series 1-5

Little Blighty on the Down: Series 1-5

A BBC Radio 4 political comedy satire


All five series of the political satirical soap opera set in the strangely familiar village of Little Blighty - plus Christmas Specials

'A comic microcosm of a country not a million miles away' Radio Times

Little Blighty is an idyllic part of the world, with a church, a market, a small school and a pub, The Cock and Bull. Village life is pretty uneventful, though the humdrum happenings include social turmoil, economic upheaval and vicious political squabbles - all presided over by the redoubtable head of the Parish Council and Secretary of the Rotarians, Mrs Roberts.

This formidable lady has been running things for nine years: despite the best efforts of the leader of the opposition, Working Men's Club chairman Mr Blandish. He's desperate for his members to present a united front against Mrs Roberts, but unfortunately they're too busy fighting amongst themselves.

The doctor's surgery is overcrowded, the river's polluted, the school is fiddling the exam results and the local market's under threat from cheap imports, but nothing seems to dent Mrs Roberts' popularity - until she introduces a conveyance charge across the village bridge. Could the 'Toll Tax' finally be her downfall?

Also included are three festive Specials, The Blighty Chronicles, It's A Wonderful Blight and Dead of Blight, in which the village's rich history is staged; a guardian angel visits Little Blighty; and we attend Lord and Lady Spenney's Christmas party, where we hear some bloodcurdling supernatural tales...

Scripted by Spitting Image writers John O'Farrell, Mark Burton and Mike Coleman, and first broadcast in 1988, this 'everyday story of a country folk' is a pitch-perfect parody of the British political landscape in the late '80s and early '90s - and remains surprisingly topical today. It is performed by a star cast including Jo Kendall, Andrew Sachs, Nick Hancock, Michael Troughton and Alistair McGowan.

Production credits
Written by Mark Burton, John O'Farrell and Mike Coleman
Produced by David Tyler and Lissa Evans
Performed by Jo Kendall, John Bluthal, Andrew Sachs, Nick Hancock, Bernadine Corrigan, Daniel Strauss, Michael Troughton, John Baddeley, Jonathan Kydd and Alistair McGowan

First broadcast on BBC Radio 4, 2-16 September 1988 (Series 1), 21 July-18 August 1989 (Series 2), 29 December 1989 (The Blighty Chronicles), 6 July-3 August 1990 (Series 3), 5 July-2 August 1991 (Series 4), 26 December 1991 (It's A Wonderful Blight), 10 July-7 August 1992 (Series 5), 31 December 1992 (Dead of Blight)

©2021 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd (P)2021 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd

About the authors

Mark Burton

Learn More

John O’Farrell

Learn More

Mike Coleman

Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more