The Secrets of Hartwood Hall

The Secrets of Hartwood Hall

The mysterious and atmospheric gothic novel for fans of Stacey Halls

Summary

The mysterious and atmospheric debut novel perfect for fans of Charlotte Brontë's Jane Eyre, Stacey Halls and Bridget Collins

'I loved this fresh take on the gothic genre. Vivid, haunting, surprising' STACEY HALLS, bestselling author of The Familiars

'A full-blooded gothic mystery with bite, great characterisation and heaps of atmosphere' EMMA STONEX, bestselling author of The Lamplighters

'With echoes of Jane Eyre but with a heart of its own . . . A suspenseful and beautifully crafted novel filled with atmosphere, rich characters and plenty of layers to keep a reader hooked right to the end' SUSAN STOKES-CHAPMAN, bestselling author of Pandora
_________

1852.

Margaret Lennox is offered a position as governess at Hartwood Hall. She quickly accepts, hoping this isolated country house will allow her to leave her past behind.

But Margaret soon starts to feel there's something odd about her new home, despite her growing fondness for her bright, affectionate pupil, Louis.

Strange figures move through the dark.
Tensions rise between the servants.
The east wing sits eerily abandoned . . .

Even stranger is the local gossip surrounding Mrs Eversham, Louis's widowed mother, who is deeply distrusted by the nearby village.

Margaret is certain that everyone has something to hide.

But as her own past threatens to catch up with her, she must learn to trust her instincts before it's too late . . .
_________

'An immersive, atmospheric novel and a true love letter to Gothic fiction' i

'A creepy, captivating gothic mystery' WOMAN'S WEEKLY

'A quintessential manor-home mystery . . . Lumsden's debut reminds us never to trust first appearances. Mesmerizing' SARAH PENNER, bestselling author of The Lost Apothecary

'This book delivers HUGE Jane Eyre vibes, gothic and mysterious Victoriana. I LOVED it' SOPHIE IRWIN, author of Sunday Times bestseller A Lady's Guide to Fortune Hunting

'Dark, twisty, gothic and full of surprises...a deliciously atmospheric page-turner' LIZ HYDER, author of The Gifts

'Lovers of Victorian literature will adore this compelling gothic mystery. An impressive debut' LOUISE HARE, author of This Lovely City

'Brilliantly creepy and utterly compelling' CAROLINE LEA

'A brilliant love letter to classic Victorian fiction and a standout debut' HAZEL GAYNOR

'Smart, atmospheric, gripping and full of surprises, this is a Gothic spine-chiller by an absolutely modern writer' MAGGIE GEE

Reviews

  • I loved this fresh take on the gothic genre. Vivid, haunting, surprising
    Stacey Halls, author of Sunday Times bestsellers The Familiars, The Foundling and Mrs England

About the author

Katie Lumsden

Katie Lumsden read Jane Eyre at the age of thirteen and never looked back. She spent her teenage years devouring nineteenth century literature, reading every Dickens, Brontë, Gaskell, Austen and Hardy novel she could find. She has a degree in English literature and history from the University of Durham and an MA in creative writing from Bath Spa University. Her short stories have been shortlisted for the London Short Story Prize and the Bridport Prize, and have been published in various literary magazines. Katie's YouTube channel, Books and Things, has more than 26,000 subscribers. She lives in London and works as an editor.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more