Small Circle of Beings

Small Circle of Beings

From the Booker prize-winning author of The Promise


The first collection of extraordinary stories from one of the greatest writers of our time.

With astonishing clarity, Booker Prize winner Galgut explores both the intimacies and violence of family life against the complex landscape of 1980s South Africa.

From a mother who experiences a devastating unmooring after her child falls gravely ill, to a son retracing his late father's brief yet passionate affair, the stories ripple out from one another, tenderly exposing those bonds we cannot escape.


'Galgut seems to deliver effortlessly...there's nothing he can't do' Times

'Damon Galgut is very nearly without essential writer' Garth Greenwell

'Terrifically agile and consistently interesting...certainly up there with Nadine Gordimer and JM Coetzee' Guardian


  • One of the world's greatest writers
    Edmund White

About the author

Damon Galgut

DAMON GALGUT is the author of nine novels. He won the Booker Prize 2021 for The Promise, having been shortlisted for the prize twice before (The Good Doctor and In A Strange Room). He lives and works in Cape Town.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more